About the Southern Indiana Wind Ensemble

The Southern Indiana Wind Ensemble (SIWE) is a community-based ensemble made up of musicians from all walks of life. Our concert programs include a variety of challenging wind band pieces with a focus on both traditional favorites and recent additions to the repertoire. As an ensemble, SIWE aims to:

- sustain a high-quality performance outlet for its members
- encourage a lifelong pursuit of opportunities for musical performance

• connect with young musicians through side-by-side concerts and educational outreach

- engage with a diverse audience
- enhance the greater artistic community

Personnel

Piccolo Eric Bowling Flute Ruth W. Mayhew Shelley Delph Criss Laura Baich Amy Hamm Stephen Raatz Clarinet Meggan Press James DeCaro Karen Willett Phillip Johnson Zhong Thai H. Joyce Kim-Rohrer Tom Wilson Joe McKeever Allison Howell Nancy Frass, Eb clarinet Darlene Pratt Karen Sweeny Deborah Widiss Maia Hall Sketch Johnson Bassoon Shelby Thompson Mackenzie Cotton Jenn Straver Bass Clarinet

Nicholas Brightman

Oboe/English Horn Jonathan Conjurske Abby Jackson, English Horn Alto Saxophone Cheri Brightman Colin Flavin **Tenor Saxophone** Hank Wintczak Baritone Saxophone **Emily Miller Chris Billings** Horn Mitch Serslev Rachel Allen Frank Padour Lauren Reed Nathan Voges **Emily Criss** Aimee Page Trumpet Phil May Joel Replogle Todd Davidson Janis Stockhouse Phil DiLavore Charles Edwards Evan Eldridge Rav Foster Eric Smedley

Trombone Harold Popp Kenneth Upchurch Bette Lucas **Bill Heinrich** Eli Brauner Michael Rodriguez **Bass Trombone** Dave Shank Travis Floyd Euphonium John Huber Matthew Finley Tuba Will Nicholas Nick Adkins Richard VanArsdel **Double Bass** Jane A. Gouker Piano **Carol Scheuer** Percussion Jerry Carpenter, Principal Aaron Lynn Enge Huang Daniel Sahyouni Danny Walsh Josh Wavle Isaac Woodlee

Southern Indiana Wind Ensemble

Stephen W. Pratt Conductor



May 1, 2024 7:00 p.m. Carmichael Auditorium Bloomington High School South

Dancing, Marching, Fantasy and Song

Commando March	Samuel Barber (1910-81)
from Symphony No. 1 – The Lord of the Rin Gandalf	ngs Johann DeMeij (b. 1953)
Amazing Grace	Frank Ticheli (b. 1958)
Stride! Kevin Day (b. 1996) Consortium Premiere	
from Der Rosenkavalier Waltz Sequence No. 2	Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
Danzon No. 2	Arturo Marquez (b. 1950)
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine	John Philip Sousa (1854-1932)
from Symphony No. 1 in G Minor Finale	Vasily Kalinnikov (1866-1901)

Special thanks

BHSN Music Teachers: Thomas Wilson, Josh Wavle
BHSS Music Teachers: Jerry Carpenter, William Nicholas, Ken Upchurch
Bloomington Community Band: music loan for this program
SIWE Conductor: Stephen W. Pratt
Bloomington Area Arts Council: Grant to coach chamber groups at local schools



Friends of SIWE

We appreciate your attendance tonight! If you are inspired to become a "Friend of SIWE," here's how:

- Contribute through PayPal, selecting Southern Indiana Wind Ensemble
- Contribute through Venmo to @Jane-Gouker
- Mail check to Southern Indiana Wind Ensemble, c/o Jane Gouker, 5935 E State Road 45, Bloomington, IN. 47408. Thank you!

Presto - \$500 and up Stephen and Darlene Pratt Mark Wiedenmayer

Moderato - \$100-249

American Legion Post 18 (Burton Woolery) Gerald Carpenter James and Cheryl DeCaro Mari and Paul Frost Jane A. Gouker Lenore Hatfield Rachel Kearney Torie Krieger

Andante – up to \$99

Anonymous Cheri Brightman Nicholas Brightman Shelley Criss Todd Davidson Yolanda Davis Phil DiLavore Myra Foster Ray Foster Nancy Frass Elizabeth Graves Maia Hall Bill Heinrich Benny Ketcham Holt Enge Huang JW and Leah Ketcham **Ruth Mayhew** Lissa May Phil May

Allegro - \$250-499 Jo Ellen and Steve Ham Stephen and Darlene Pratt Mitch Serslev Janis Stockhouse Jacob and Abby Tolar

Mike and Bette Lucas Aimee and Mitch Page Andrew Press Sigma Alpha Iota, Bloomington Alumnae chapter Ken Upchurch Jeff and Legene White Karen Willett

Emily Miller Eric and Linda Mjolsnes William Nicholas Aimee Page David A. Pavolka Harold Popp Meggan Press Stephen Raatz Leo Schunn David and Bobbi Shank James Simon Jennifer Smith Jennifer Strayer Karen Sweeny Josh Wavle Tom Wilson Hank Wintzcak Kaitlyn Young